Hello! đź‘‹

These forums are now archived (read only).

Join us on Discord.

Windows freezes periodically while using Synergy

So I've been using Synergy for many years, primarily to connect two computers: a Linux desktop running various versions of Kubuntu (14, 16, 18, 20, 22) and a Windows laptop running first Windows 10, and now Windows 11. I always run the Linux desktop as the Synergy server, and the Windows laptop as the Synergy client. My keyboard and mouse are physically connected to the Linux desktop, and I use those to control the Windows laptop via Synergy. (Normally the laptop lid is closed and I have a 4K monitor plugged into it, which is how I see what's on the Windows laptop.)

I was using Synergy 1.14.6 until yesterday (same version on both computers). I updated to Windows 11 a few months ago. Everything was fine with Windows 11 for a while, but on June 16 I started noticing an issue that would occur: Whenever I was playing a game on the laptop (again, controlled via Synergy through the Linux desktop), occasionally the screen image and mouse cursor would freeze. The freeze would last anywhere from 1 to ~15 seconds, and in all cases, the screen and mouse would unfreeze and everything would return to normal. Never once since this began has the Windows machine experienced a system crash or BSOD or anything like that. Also, during the freezes, the Linux machine is normally responsive and appears to have no issues. If I close Synergy and control the laptop directly, using its own mouse and keyboard, the issue does not occur.